Wyckoff Farmhouse Museum

Location: 5816 Clarendon Rd, Brooklyn The Wyckoff House & Association was established in 1937 to promote interest in Pieter Claesen Wyckoff, his descendants, and in the Pieter Claesen Wyckoff House located in the Flatlands section of Brooklyn, New York. The Association also assembles, publishes, and distributes materials and information relating to them. The Association‘s first meeting took place in New York City on March 4, 1937, the 300th anniversary of Pieter Claesen‘s arrival in New Amsterdam harbor. Originally a Dutch West India Company bowerie, or farm, the original portion of the Pieter Claesen Wyckoff House was built c.1652 and is the oldest building in New York City. It is also one of the oldest wooden structures in this country, and the entire structure was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1968. The house was enlarged c.1740 and as a whole is an excellent example of the Dutch Colonial vernacular style with its H-frame structure, shingled walls, split Dutch doors, and deep, flared ‘spring‘ eaves. Peter Claesen Wyckoff emigrated from the Netherlands as an indentured servant in 1637 and acquired the land through his connections with Peter Stuyvesant beginning in 1652. Successive generations of Wyckoff‘s farmed here until 1901. The house survived the early 20th-century development of South Brooklyn to become the first landmark designated by the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission upon its creation in 1965. In 1969 the Wyckoff House Foundation donated the house to the City, and after an exhaustive restoration it opened as a Museum in 1982. Programs explore the diverse peoples of Brooklyn‘s Dutch-American farming communities and include demonstrations of household and farm activities. Special events are scheduled throughout the year.