Gracie Mansion was built in 1799 as a country house by Archibald Gracie. The house went through several hands until 1896 when New York City appropriated the estate and, with 11 acres of ground, created the Carl Shurz Park.
Carl Schurz was a 19th-century German immigrant who became a Civil War general, US Senator, political activist and newspaper editor. The mansion was used for different purposes throughout the years. For a while it was home to the Museum of the City of New York. Finally, in 1942 it became the official residence of the City‘s Mayor. Fiorello La Guardia was its first inhabitant.
Gracie Mansion, presently one of the oldest surviving wood structures in Manhattan and a member of The Historic House Trust, was in need of repair. Therefore, Mayor Ed Koch established the Gracie Mansion Conservancy, a non-profit corporation established in 1981. This corporation was instrumental in the undertaking of the first major restoration was undertaken between 1981 and 1984. The Conservancy‘s mission is to raise funds to restore the historic structure and acquire furnishings that illustrate the rich history of New York; improve the surrounding landscape and gardens; and provide educational services, including publications and tours.
Location: East End Ave, at 89th Street, New York